Frosted Banana Bars

I have been wanting to make a banoffee pie for a while now. But every time I check out a recipe it says something different from the one before. So I am confused and since I have never had banoffee pie before I have no idea which recipe is the best. If anybody can help me out I would be really happy 🙂

So again I had the bananas ready and they started getting the little brown spots on them but got scared of the banoffee pie project, again, so I had to do something with them.

If I had read Camilla’s post a few hours earlier I would have made her recipe for sure:

http://italytaketwo.wordpress.com/2013/09/03/banana-cake-calms-nerves/

But I read it right after I finished baking.

So what did I end up baking?

Frosted banana bars. I found the recipe on Pinterest.

http://www.julieseatsandtreats.com/2011/06/frosted-banana-bars/

This is what they are supposed to look like:

Frosted Banana Bars ~ Soft and yummy banana bars topped with a cream cheese frosting? via www.julieseatsandtreats.com

 

and this is how mine turned out:

Image

 

I followed the recipe, except for the frosting I added half the amount of sugar suggested, and also added the juice of half of a lemon. Even this way the frosting was too sweet for my taste at first, but after one night in the fridge it was just right. Anyway they were yummy and now all of them are gone 😦

Have you baked anything yummy lately?

 

5 thoughts on “Frosted Banana Bars

    • Is that what she did? Bakeritalia can be the recipe detective. I could soon build up a collection to post…

      @blackberryboys – it looks very tasty, even if the icing is a bit different. I hate sickly icing, too.

Leave a Reply

