Stay At Home Mom

Today marks the one year anniversary of me not working, but staying at home and caring for the boys.

Image

This is my second round of being a stay at home Mom (SAHM). I stayed home with Blackberry #1 for 2 years and 2 months before going back to work.

I remember back then I always thought that being a stay at home Mom was way harder than when I was working ๐Ÿ™‚

Then I went back to work full time, and still had to do everything else then before, so that was even more harder!

The best part about going to work was being able to go to the bathroom aloneย  ๐Ÿ™‚ and having lunch with other adults while I only needed to feed myself and no one else:)

This time around I am truly enjoying being a SAHM! Blackberry #2 will be my last child so I am trying to soak all the joys of being home with a baby.

Here in Hungary the government supports women to stay at home for a longer amount of time after birth. If you qualify (meaning you had a job for about 2 years before giving birth) then first you get TGYASย  for the first about 6 months, which is close to the amount you got as a salary before. From when the baby is 6 months to 2 years old you get GYED, which is calculated according to your salary but it is also maximalised so it cannot be more thanย  70 % of the minimal wage x2.ย  And than from when the child is 2 years to 3 years old, you can get Gyes, which is really a small amount of money enough maybe to buy nappies forย  2 months. But at least there is an opportunity for Moms here to choose to stay at home. The only problem with staying at home is that alot of work places don’t take you back after you are ready to return.

Also part time jobs are very rare which would be ideal for women with small children.

Most people still think SAHM-s don’t do much, but any SAHM will tell you that is not the case ๐Ÿ™‚

There is never enough hours in a day.

Even though I don’t need my Masters degree in biology or my Ph.D. in Theoretical Medical Sciences to fill this job, it is still the best job in the world ๐Ÿ™‚

Here are some funny stuff from Pinterest:

Stay at home mom at that!

https://i0.wp.com/media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/originals/b7/81/1c/b7811c6c0202eb84bef0af459a81c353.jpg

https://i0.wp.com/media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/originals/9f/9a/69/9f9a696ef08675f352e6b464ab3e39c2.jpg

said every stay at home mom, ever

Stay at home mom

Stay at home mom minus kids! Lol

Stay at home Mom. The bottom left is what my mother thinks I do. Lol

Are you or have you ever been or would you one day want to be a Stay at Home Mom?

Evry day mom badge

12 thoughts on “Stay At Home Mom

  1. Enjoy! The second time around goes faster than the first!
    I still find going to work easier than being a SAHM that’s right, feeding 20 people a 5 course dinner is hands down easier….and no one dares answers back lol!

  2. Thanks! Don’t say that! I want it to go really slow ๐Ÿ™‚ For me feeding 20 people would be harder (Ha-ha), but I know what you mean. It must be great to cook for people and they actually eat it without whining ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Im currently a sahm i took 8 months paid and then im contining to 16months unpaid. I plan to go back to work just after vs 2nd birthday. Its going ti be hard. I woukd much rather be a sahm forever and just keep having babies. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. I just went back to work after 3years and 3 months at home. I loved the time with my kids but I also love working now! I feel lucky that I could stay home with my kids for this long, parental leaves are pretty well supported n Finland too (and my kids have only 1 yr and 4 months between them). I have truly enjoyed being able to do more and more things, especially crafts with them, the older they have gotten. I also think daycare would have been a nightmare for my little mama’s son a year ago, but he matured a lot last spring and now it has all been pretty good. And my daughter embraced daycare from day 1. Interesting to hear about the system in Hungary! And funny truths you ended the post with!
    ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Wow big changes for you right now! I am happy to read that all the transition is going well for all of you! I plan to stay home for 3 years too, this time. Are you working in the same place as you worked before the kids? Thanks for the reference of my post in your Change of Life style post ๐Ÿ™‚

      • No worries, this is worth a read and it made me laugh that while I was trying to gather my thoughts on our change of life style you were writing about staying at home. What a timing!

        No, I did not go back to the place I worked before. I was on a contract, my old employer actually did offer me continuation (rare!) but due to organisational changes I was less motivated to do the job and I also preferred to get rid of the staff responsibilities. So I applied for a new job and enjoy new challenges now!

  5. Pingback: Change of Life Style; Finances and Fun | Free But Fun!

  6. I’m working part time – I’m sorry you don’t have more of an option for that where you are! It can be a good compromise, although some fields are easier than others. It’s also a shame about employers not wanting you back.

    Your PhD sounds so interesting, by the way. I’m a teensy bit jealous.

Leave a Reply

