Happy Halloween!

In Hungary Halloween is not a holiday 😦 When I was in elementary school I spent a few years in the USA with my parents, so I got to know and like this holiday.Β  So each year we carve a pumpkin with Blackberry #1 and this year Blackberry #2 joined in the fun too πŸ™‚

Here is our pumpkin:

Image

As for costumes, we celebrate carnival in february, so here are some costumes (for Blackberry #1) from previous years:

Image

Pumpkin dancing with his wife.

Image

Cowboy.

Image

Viking.

Do you celebrate Halloween?

17 thoughts on “Happy Halloween!

  1. We don’t have Halloween either. And the February carnival is not a carnival but it’s a day for tobogganning. But kids dress up as witches (nowadays as anything) the Sunday before Easter, make decorations out of willow and go to houses with a rhyme asking for lollies and “paying” with the decorations.

    • We don’t always have snow in february at carnival so tobogganning here would not always be possible:) That is great that you have a “form” of trick or treating before easter. No such thing here:) Great to learn new things about Finland πŸ™‚

      • We do! But have to admit, I forgot about it πŸ™‚ The graves of my relatives are too fr away for me to have grown up with the tradition. A round to the graves before Christmas can start has always been a must though.

      • This year I didn’t visit any graves either 😦 Ours are far away too, So I couldn’t do it this year with an 11 month old 😦 But I think the dead understand, and will be glad the next time I go πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

