When Mommy is ill

I have been ill since sunday. It started with being tired, aching all over. Then a stuffy nose, sore throat. Then a runny nose and now the fun part: coughing.

When you are a Mom and you are ill it is no fun. No one takes care of you. At least my husband is not that kind. He is even afraid of me then and says stupid things like that he will catch whatever I have just by breathing in the same room 🙂 So no help from husband…I am ok with this part, not being taken care of. I can take care of myself. But taking care of 2 little ones while being ill is another story!

I have been wearing a surgeon mask all week to minimize the chance of BB#2 catching this lovely microorganism. It is kind of hard to take care of a 2 year old all week in a surgeon mask. For one he thinks it is funny and wants to take it off all the time 🙂 I try to minimize contact with him but how the hell are you supposed to do that when you are the one that changes his diaper, feeds him, dresses him etc…. I just really hope he stays healthy because he has his appointment at the pediatric cardiologist next tuesday, (the one we got 6 months ago… ) and he is super cranky at those even when he is healthy.

Then there is BB#1. Getting up early every day while sick, to get him ready for school, remembering every day what he is supposed to take with him, doing homework in the afternoons. Yesterday was carnival day, I had to make his indian head gear for him and take him in the morning get his costume on and then go back an hour later and see the carnival itself…. All while being sick…..

Back to the coughing: the part I hate the most. I cannot sleep because when I lay down I cough. I had 1 and a half hours of sleep last night…. But tonight I will get Dextromethorphan, (an over the counter cough medicine) and hopefully get some sleep!!!! Thank God for opiates 🙂 Have I mentioned I wrote my PhD on my research on opiates?

But first this Mommy has to pick up BB#1 at school and take him to speech therapy.

How do you cope being a Mom when ill?

This post is part of:

https://diapersandtutus.wordpress.com/2015/02/19/every-day-mom-link-up-2-19-15/

Evry day mom badge

16 thoughts on “When Mommy is ill

  1. Wow That well and truly sucks! I really hope you get better soon but saying that it sounds like just what Vinnie had he was sick for 12 day taking three different medicines 3 Times a day every day.
    Having no rest must be super tough going. I really hope your husband helps you a little.
    I sent you an Emil via your BlackBerryboys hotmail. Hope you received it. 🙂

    • 3 different medicines, 3 times a day? Wow, that is alot, and ofcourse toddlers are not always cooperating when it is time for medicine 😦 OFcourse husband was working even on the weekends while I was sick, so no help from him, but my Dad helped. Yes I got the email. Thank you. I read you post, I just haven’t commented yet. xoxo

  2. I feel for you!! That is horrible! (The only more horrible thing is if you are sick AND both your kids are sick too).
    The two best parts in going from a SAHM to a working mum were, in my book, #1 *being able to be sick without kids around*. Yes, I have had two sick days in the last 1,5 years at work, were I took my perfectly healthy kids to daycare and slept the whole day. I also found out that I really do not miss out on anything with not having time to watch daytime tv. But both times I’ve gotten bacl on my feet quickly so I reckon the rest helped. I wish there is somebody to help you out soon!
    #2 would be not having to prepare food all the time :).

    • You are right. The worst is when everyone is sick at the same time. Yes a sick day without kids sounds good. You are right I never watch tv during the day. Nothing goood, but I do sometimes find good tv series on line. I usually watch those during the night 🙂

  3. I love that BB#2 thinks you’re funny in the mask. Yes, you are very uncomfortable now and don’t want anyone else to get sick, but still what precious mom and son bonding time!

    • I could finally loose the mask! Hurray. Ofcourse BB#2 also cought a cold, but he just had a stuffy nose, luckily no fever, he is doing better, but ofcourse as soon as this happens, BB#1 started running a fever yesterday. I hope spring arrives soon and we will all be healthy.

  4. How are you feeling now? I hope you are feeling a lot better.

    I can totally relate to this as I was sick just last week. I was so bad on the Sunday that I actually couldn’t get out of the bed (pounding headache, sore throat, body aches). Thankfully that is hubby’s day off. He took the baby between feeds during the day, but she slept in with me that night. I was sure she would catch whatever I had being in such close contact, thankfully she didn’t. Monday I wasn’t as bad and each day after I felt better, but I was home alone with baby and 2yo until 2pm and then the other 2 came home. How did I cope? I’m not sure I did!! But I survived!! I wore a surgical mask too, quite common here in Japan, so the kids are used to that, but I feel claustrophic with them sometimes. 🙂

  5. Aww I hope you feel better soon! it is no fun being sick with little ones. I always say that moms and nurses should never get sick, we pay our dues by taking care of others, hugs and well wishes to get well 😉

Leave a Reply

